You will see Metekhi temple of Assumption located on top of the cliff on the left bank of Mtkvari River.One can get there via Metekhi bridge, which connects Vakhtang Gorgasali square to Europe square. The extant Metekhi cross-cupola church dates back to circa 13th c. It was a part of the Royal residential complex. In front of the temple stands the equestrian statue of the founder of the city, King Vakhtang Gorgassali. To the right from Metekhi bridge, under the Metekhitemplethere is a small charch of St. Abo Tbileli - a Christian martyr and the Patron Saint of the city of Tbilisi. To the east of Metekhi temple along Metekhi plateau one can see old galleried houses perched on the cliff overlooking the MtkvariRiver and creating a unique atmosphere characteristic to Tbilisi only. Old Metekhi Hotel certainly stands out among other buildings. First built in 1830, it was further reconstructed and rebuilt in 1976-1978. At the foot of Metekhi rock the staircase system begins, leading to romantic by its appearance Queen Darejan's Palace built in 1776. The palace, church and other buildings create a united complex. Today the convent of the Transfiguration is in this place.